Ashoka's Changemakers International Contest
Ashoka's Changemakers International Contest
Entrepreneuring Peace (January 2007)
Games for Change Annual Contest
Games for Change Annual Contest
"Best Transformation Game" (June 27,2007)
USC Contest
USC Contest
"Reinventing Public Diplomacy through Games" (May 8 2006)
PeaceMaker Wins First Place
The Second Annual I/ITSEC
The Second Annual I/ITSEC
"Serious Games Showcase & Challenge" (October 14,2007)
Playing PeaceMaker in the U.S. Playing PeaceMaker in the U.S.
Israeli General Dani Yatom Israeli General Dani Yatom
Playing PeaceMaker in Qatar Playing PeaceMaker in Qatar


PeaceMaker is fun - challenging, tense at times, and extremely well-presented... The only other political computer game I've ever played that had this level of subtlety was Balance of Power, which I consider one of the greatest games ever made.
- Ernest Adams, Gamasutra
The game is eye-opening, but remains entertaining while making its point... the game is still fast-paced without requiring a shooting interfacing and things can go downhill fast. It provided a challenge that literally kept me up at night.
- Robert Janelle, Suite 101
What Peacemaker does well is demonstrate how games can be used for something besides gang-banging simulators.
- Scott Jennings, Broken Toys
(Referring to Balance of Power and Hidden Agenda) the fact that we only have three significant games in this genre in 17 years is a little depressing.
- Raph Koster, the former CCO of Sony


I played the game all night last night and found it brilliant and thought-provoking. The concept is of sheer genius and the execution was professional and creative... simply out of this world
- Asaf Lubin, Israel
Making the policy decisions in the game and pondering the possible ramifications on all parties really makes the issues hit home and stay with you. It is a wonderfully efficient and fun way to study the real world. In several ways, I feel enriched by the experience. I think this is a remarkable achievement and I commend you for it.
- Jarmo Petäjäaho, Finland
There couldn't be a more impressive, clear message from a private initiative to the political leaders of Israel and Palestine
- Dominique Zygmont, Switzerland
It took me a few hours to finish it successfully as the Palestinian president. Never had such a happy and satisfying game experience.
- Marco Boltz, Germany
(My son) has learned more about the conflicts that have been plaguing the Middle East in three hours than I have been able to teach him in many years.
- Terry Bowers, USA
It was a great experience... thanks a lot to the whole team for making this possible!
- Mourad Mahidi, Austria


Former Israeli Army Officer Designs 'Peace' Game, July 18, 2007

Unlike some other computer games, Peacemaker is not about killing as many enemies as you can. It's not about that, though you certainly have the option. You become one of the leaders in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

Channel 2 (Israeli TV)
General Dani Yatom Plays PeaceMaker, February 2, 2007

Dani Yatom, the former head of the Mossad and a former Israeli General - a veteran in Israeli-Palestinian negotiations agreed to review the game. 'It is clear that I need to send troops to destroy the infrastructure of the militants', Yatom says, but his hardline policy doesn't work well in the game: 'You Lost - Third Intifada' he reads from the screen. Game Over.

Wired News
Games Tackle Middle East Conflict, Sep 18, 2006

ImpactGames ... was founded by an Israeli and an American who wanted to create something about a conflict they found relevant not just to themselves, but to people all over the world. "We reached out to Palestinians (for the team) as well, and two joined".

The New York Times
Saving the World, One Video Game at a Time, July 23, 2006

Last week in an effort to solve the Israeli-palestinian crisis, I withdrew settlements in the Gaza strip. But then a suicide bomber struck in Jerusalem, the P.L.O leader called my actions "condescending", and the Knesset demanded a stern response. Desperate to retain control, I launched a missile strike against Hamas militants...

BBC World News

It is interactive. They have also managed to bring a lot of real-life material into it... It brings what would normally be a boring simulation or a board game of some kind to life on the screen and I think it makes it much more real for people who are playing the game.

Qatar Today

Nora Al Subai, a computer science sophomore student taking the class: "Having real news events embedded in the game has changed how I view the different aspects of conflict resolution. Sometimes now in class we use examples from the game to express what we want to say".

Middle East Peace a Reality in a New Computer Game, May 2, 2007

Many have tried. All have failed. But with a new computer game, you can make peace in the Middle East. The software, called "PeaceMaker" ... allows you to play the part of the Israeli prime minister or the Palestinian president and make diplomatic, security and economic decisions.

Globe and Mail
Review by Mark MacKinnon, March 12, 2007

Yesterday, as the Palestinian President met in Jerusalem with the Israeli Prime Minister Ehud Olmert, I sat in my cluttered office a few blocks away and played PeaceMaker, a new game about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict... The parallels with what was happening in the real world yesterday were striking.

Review by Ernest Adams, Jan 31, 2006

PeaceMaker is fun - challenging, tense at times, and extremely well-presented. But it's also an important game with the potential to enlighten people about one of the great issues of our time. That's a noble goal and one to which I would like to see more designers aspire.

The only other political computer game I've ever played that had this level of subtlety was Balance of Power, which I consider one of the greatest games ever made.

Time Magazine
Do-Gooder Games, August 6, 2006

Try your hand at peace in the Middle East. In May Carnegie Mellon students won the University of Southern California's Public Diplomacy Contest for PeaceMaker, which challenges you to create a stable resolution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

Associated Press Article (CNN, MSNBC and more)
Students fight for Mideast peace in video game, April 24, 2006

...the developers of "PeaceMaker" want to shatter that notion. Unlike most serious games, it aims to bridge the gap between education and entertainment and reach a mass market.

Washington Post
Video Game World Gives Peace a Chance, October 16, 2005

Parents who worry that video games are teaching kids to settle conflicts with blasters and bloodshed can take heart: A new generation of video games wants to save the world through peace and democracy. A team at Carnegie Mellon University is working on an educational computer game that explores the Mid-East conflict -- you win by negotiating peace between Israelis and Palestinians.

Haaretz, Israel

Unlike other games that have dealt with the Israeli-Arab conflict ..., in PeaceMaker, the players enter the shoes of politicians rather than generals. Victory in PeaceMaker, as opposed to other computer games, is not achieved through quick deployment of forces, destruction of enemy units or control of territories, but by reaching an understanding with the other party to the conflict


Ashoka Finalist's Presentation

The Skoll Forum, Oxford, England (March 27 2007)

Independent Videogaming: A New Medium - Panel

Sundance Film Festival (January 20 2007)

Mixing Gravity with Entertainment - Panel

Games for Change Conference (June 27-28 2006)

Demo Session

Intetain 2005, Madonna di Campiglio, Italy (Nov 30-Dec 2 2005)

1 Hour Presentation

The Serious Games Summit 2005, Washington D.C. (Oct 31-Nov 1 2005)

PeaceMaker Session

National Conference of the World Affairs Councils of America (February 1 2007)

Engaging and Building the New Generation of PeaceMakers - Panel

The Gandhi Institute's Nonviolence in the Age of Terrorism Conference (September 10 2006)

Panel of Educators and Game Developers Seminar, Adelaide, Australia (March 3 2006)

Presentation and user tests

Education City, Qatar (November 2005)

Poster Session

Game Developers Conference 2005, San Francisco (Spring 2005)